Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Chrome has a new malware clean up feature, Here's how to use it !



Lots of malware tries to bog down your browser, but Google Chrome isn’t defenseless—on Windows there’s a built-in scanner called Cleanup.

Cleanup is free and runs periodically but you can run it manually if you think your browser may be infected.

How to run chrome Cleanup feature 

Step 1: Click the 3 staked dots on the top right corner of your browser.

Step 2: Drag your cursor down the list and till you get to settings.

Step 3: Click settings.

Step 4: Then settings will open up and look for the 3 stacked lines next to the word settings.

Step 5: When you find the 3 stacked lines click it and open the left side drop down.

Step 6: When opened you will then see the advanced tap at the bottom of the list.

Step 7: Click advanced.

Step 8:  With advanced open you will then see reset and clean up .

Step 9: Click reset and clean up ,then click clean up computer.






Tuesday, May 15, 2018

How to Turn Off Chrome Notifications


Browser alerts can be a lifesaver, letting you know about important, timely content that your favorite website just posted. However, it's also easy to tire of these notifications and want to turn them off. Fortunately, Chrome makes it easy to disable alerts from an individual site or from the entire Internet.

1. Navigate to chrome://settings/content/notifications. You can also get there by going to settings then content and then notifications, but why not just go directly?


How to disable all notifications

1. Toggle "Ask before sending (recommended)" to Off if you wish to disable all notifications from all sites. After you toggle the switch, the UI will say "blocked." If you don't want to stop all alerts, skip this step.

Now, not only will you not receive alerts, but you shouldn't be prompted to sign up for them either.

How to disable notifications from particular sites


1. Scroll down to the "Allow list"

2. Locate the site you want to disallow.

3. Highlight the unwanted site URL and hit CTRL + C (or right click) to copy.




4. Click the three dots and select Remove from the menu.



You will no longer receive alerts from that site, but it could still ask you to sign up again. Let's block it from doing so.

5. Scroll up to the "Block" list and click Add.



6. Paste (or type) in the URL of the site you want blocked and click Add.


Now that site will not only stop sending you notifications, but also stop asking you to sign up for them.